What you can eat when you have soy allergies or soy intolerance

Soy-free and Dairy-free Cheese

Soy-free and Dairy-free Cheese

Soy is one of the top eight most common food allergens.  Yet, soy products can be found in many foods in restaurants, fast food, manufactured breads, cereals, mayonnaise, salad dressings, in non-dairy milk products and many other foods.

Soy can be hiding in your food under any of the following ingredients:

emusifiers*
soy flour
soy oil
soy sauce
tamari
Bragg’s liquid amino acids
tempeh
vegetable gum*
lecithin*
soy lecithin
soy protein
soy sprouts
tofu
vegetable oil*
vegetable shortening*
textured vegetable protein (TVP)
miso
soy albumin
soy milk
soy protein isolate
soy-based infant formulas
unspecified sprouts*
vegetable paste*
vegetable starch*
hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)*
shoyu
soy beans
soy nuts
edamame
soya
stabilizers*
vegetable broth*
vegetable protein*
hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)*
*  These items may or may not contain soy; the source if seldom listed on a food label.
Source:  Vickerstackk-Joneha, J. Managing Food Allergy and Intolerance:  A Practical Guide.  1995

So if you have soy allergies or a soy intolerance, it is imperative that you read labels on foods carefully and ask specifically about the food you are ordering in a restaurant if you’re eating out. For many people, creating all or most of your food at home is the best way to ensure you are avoiding all soy products.

Are Soy Products really the answer for people with milk allergies or lactose intolerance?

If you can’t eat dairy products, it may seem like soy products such as soy milk, soy cheese, soy yogurt, soy ice cream, even “butter” made from soy oil are great alternatives to use.  However, eating any food in excess can lead to developing another sensitivity or intolerance to a food.

Furthermore, non-fermented soy foods are not the “health food” they have been advertised to be.  Fermented foods such as tempeh, fermented soy sauce, miso and natto are generally okay to eat in balance unless you have a soy allergy or soy intolerance.  To read more about why everyone should avoid non-fermented soy products, click here.  To read more about the misconceptions and dangers of soy, click here.

So what can you eat on a soy-free diet?

When you realize that many of the foods you have been eating are teeming with soy, it can take some time to figure out exactly what you can eat instead!

Here are some ideas:

Mayonnaise: Almost all mayos are made from soy oil.  You can find soy-free mayo in some grocery stores in the natural foods section and at most health food stores.  Most are made from canola or safflower oils.  However, these oils are also usually genetically modified.  So if you want to eat a healthy mayo that is free of soy and canola, make your own.  Here is a recipe.

Soy flour: Soy flour is added to many breads that you buy in the store.  It is also sometimes used in gluten-free baking.  However, I highly recommend using other gluten-free blends for baking and avoiding bread with soy flour in it.  Again, this is for the same reason that people should avoid non-fermented soy products.

“In addition, soy contains a high omega-3 content that quickly goes rancid when the bean is made into flour.  Soy flour has a disagreeable taste that is difficult to mask  – nature’s way of telling us to avoid it.  The phytoestrogens in soy have been promoted as panaceas but they are actually goitrogens that depress thyroid function.”  Nourishing Traditions, by Sally Fallon, page 477.

Soy nuts: Eat any other kind of nuts besides soy nuts if you can tolerate them.  All nuts have enzyme inhibitors in them so it is best to soak raw nuts overnight (add 1 Tbsp salt to water), drain them, then dehydrate them in the oven at 150 degrees for 12-24 hour.

Soy sauce substitute: If you love Asian food but can no longer eat soy, here is a soy sauce recipe you can use to replace soy sauce in stir fries and other Asian dishes.

Gluten free Soy free Soy sauce substitute
2 cups organic beef broth – best to make your own
2 tsp cider vinegar
1 tsp molasses or maple syrup
1/8 tsp ground ginger
dash of pepper/onion powder/garlic powder

Steps:  Combine all in a saucepan and boil until reduced to 1 cup.

I received this recipe from Frann Leach but she got it from a source she is unsure about.  If you know the source of the recipe, please let me know.

Bouillon cubes: Make your own chicken, fish, beef or lamb broth.  These are very nourishing and healing to the body.  Bouillon cubes contain hydrogenated oils that are harmful to your health.

Miso substitute: use 1 tsp salt to 1 Tbsp miso in recipes calling for miso.  This works for dairy-free cheese recipes.  For recipes calling for miso for a soup base, use organic chicken or beef broth.

Soy oil: Soy oil is used to fry many foods in fast food restaurants and sometimes in regular restaurants.  It is also in almost all frozen dinners, many breads, cereals, salad dressings, etc.  Although it does not have soy protein in it and therefore may not create an allergic reaction, it is a GMO-laden oil that is very harmful to our health.  Cook your own food at home with extra virgin coconut oil or cold pressed virgin olive oil. Avoid all products with soy or vegetable oil in them.

Soy-based Baby Formula: Breast milk is best but if you are unable to breastfeed for whatever reason, the best nutritious baby formula I have found is this recipe at Weston A. Price Foundation.

Tofu and TVP: If you’re a vegetarian or can’t eat meat or seafood for what ever reason, eat properly soaked and cooked beans and lentils, nuts and seeds for protein.  Hemp protein powder is a good source of protein.

Soy and Dairy-free Substitutes for Dairy Products:

Butter substitutes: unless you are allergic to dairy or avoiding casein, I recommend eating organic butter from grass-fed cows.  If you can’t eat butter, you can make ghee. This has absolutely no milk protein in it and is suitable for a casein-free diet.  I personally love using extra virgin coconut oil or coconut butter as butter substitutes. They taste great on toast and in cereal.  For cooking and baking, you can use extra virgin coconut oil or cold pressed virgin olive oil.

Milk: raw milk or raw milk kefir is best unless you can’t drink milk.  Raw goat milk products including goat milk, goat yogurt and goat kefir are easier to digest than cow’s milk products but still contain some casien.

If you can’t eat raw milk or goat’s milk, try making your own almond milk.  Most packaged almond milk still has soy lecithin in it.  You can also make nut milk out of about any kind of nut and they are much healthier for you than buying storebought nut milks.  Hemp milk is also good for you and is high in Omegas.

My favorite dairy-free and soy-free milk is coconut milk.  I not only use it on hot cereal, but in many different types of recipes that call for milk.  It is extremely good for you, even if it is high in fat!  Find brands that are not sweetened or have added water to them.  Also, buy whole, full fat coconut milk and organic if possible.

Yogurt: If you can’t eat regular cow’s or goat’s yogurt or kefir, there are other alternatives to yogurt that are also soy-free.  These include but aren’t limited to rice yogurt and coconut yogurt. The coconut yogurt does have sugar in it. 

Cheese: If you can eat small amounts of casein, you will be able to eat almond cheese or rice cheese by Lisanatti.  If you can eat rice but no casein, Galaxy Foods makes a rice cheese that is also casein free. 

If you want to try making your own cheese, here is one that I made out of cashews that is soy-free and dairy-free. 

Ice cream: The best soy-free and dairy-free ice cream I know of that you can buy is made from coconut milk.  There are at least two brands and I’ve tried the Purely Decadant brand.  It is very good and very creamy.  It is sweetened with agave syrup.  Luna and Larry’s Coconut Bliss ice cream is another one but I haven’t tried it yet. But I’ve heard it’s very yummy. 
Did I forget anything? Let me know if you have further suggestions for a soy-free diet!  I’d love to hear from you!

10 Responses to What you can eat when you have soy allergies or soy intolerance
  1. Jenny
    September 18, 2009 | 2:15 pm

    I can’t wait to try that soy sauce alternative. How cool is that? I would have KILLED for it when I was nursing my little guy as an infant. He was soy and milk intolerant, so I couldn’t have soy sauce at all which made for not-quite-as-tasty stirfries.

  2. Sarah
    September 18, 2009 | 2:32 pm

    Me too! I couldn’t have eggs, dairy, soy, spicy foods, onions, garlic, gas-forming veggies like broccoli. It was very hard!

  3. heather
    November 24, 2009 | 4:03 pm

    i cant have soy an i dont know what i can have for dinner

  4. Sarah
    November 25, 2009 | 10:17 am

    I have a soy free menu planner if you are having a hard time trying to think of what to make for dinner. It contains a shopping list so shopping is very easy and you don’t have to plan what you’re making during the week:

    http://www.heartofcooking.com/sidebar/soy-gluten-and-dairy-free-menu-planner/

    Good luck!
    Sarah

  5. sl
    July 25, 2012 | 2:29 pm

    What I would like to know ,if someone is lactose intolerance, are they intolerance to Soy also? do they go hand in hand with each other?
    I get the same Symptoms when I have Soy as I do when I have Milk.
    I have been lactose intolerance from a very young age. and notice now that when I started to eat Soy, I get the same symptoms.
    I drink lactose free Milk, and I am just fine , no problems with my stomach etc…..
    Wondering about Soy?

    Thanks for any info.

  6. Sarah
    July 25, 2012 | 2:49 pm

    Hi SL,
    I am not sure if I can say they go hand in hand – but I would say that many people who have food allergies and who are allergic to dairy or lactose intolerant also have problems with soy. Or, if a person ends up eating a lot of soy to substitute for the dairy, this can lead to an allergy just by eating too much of it. But it all depends on the person and everyone is different. The best thing is to get tested by a doctor. I like using chiropractors to test for food allergies. Good luck to you!

  7. Malcolm
    August 6, 2012 | 11:05 am

    to SL,
    I had dairy protein intolerance 10 years shown by extended exclusion diets and re-challenges, then last couple of years realised was probably Soy PROTEIN as well. (Protein intolerance is different to lactose intolerance). My medical literature searches (I have background in Drug Research) show many researchers are now grouping dairy protein and soy protein intolerances together as Soy protein appears to be very similar and can cross react in about 5% of milk protein intolerant people. If you drink lactose free COWS milk you may not have a protein intolerance to dairy. Remember that protein intolerance reactions can be delayed for hours & up to four days from ingestion. (These are different from dangerous allergy IgE reactions). You might consider exploring soy protein allergy. It seems that soy oils and lecithin are OK for most people with soy protein intolerance. It is a slow process and keep an open mind for other causes of gastric upsets.

  8. Maria
    May 8, 2013 | 10:36 pm

    Hello, I have recently been diagnosed with nut allergies, grasses, trees, weeds, and a “mild reaction” to soybean. It has totally freaked me out because soy is in almost everything. I want to know if having a “mild reaction” to soy means I can have some soy? Will a reaction occur if I continue having it? Can I tolerate some soy? Thank You for answering my question in advance…

  9. Sarah
    May 9, 2013 | 9:49 am

    HI Maria,
    I would ask your Dr. but in general I am not an advocate of most soy products because unless it is organic, it will be GMO. Also, if it is not fermented, it is also not good to eat very much of it because it can cause digestive problems. So if you do eat it, I would stick to fermented soy such as tamari, miso and tempeh. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

*

Trackback URL http://allergyfreemenuplanners.com/2009/09/18/what-you-can-eat-when-you-have-soy-allergies-or-soy-intolerance/trackback/